EdTech 506 Personal Introduction Image

Personal Graphic.fw

I created this image using Adobe Firewords CS6. Two of my favorite places on Earth are the beach and Italy. I had the privilege of living in Italy for a year and a half 20 years ago, and I am planning a trip there sometime this year!! I am so excited to return to a place that feels so much like home. The photo labeled Roma is of me at the Boca della Verita, or Mouth of Truth in Rome. I placed this photo first because a trip to Italy is a priority this year. I love the beach because the crashing of the waves helps me to feel tranquil. I chose to use a picture of the beach in the background because one of my goals for this year is to spend more time meditating and being at peace with myself and the world. I want to be sure I give myself free time, and to me, the beach symbolizes tranquility and freedom from worry.

I chose the picture of the bed because it shows one of my hobbies. I like to create things, and this picture shows one of the quilts I designed and made for one of my nieces. I faded the picture more because while working on my Master’s, my hobbies have taken a backseat. The picture of my classroom captures one of my passions. I love to read, and I want my 7th graders to have lots of books to choose from. My classroom library is constantly updated and my students love that I have the latest books as well as classics. This picture is somewhat faded (though not as much as the projects picture) because reading for enjoyment has also taken a backseat. Unfortunately, my students have also lost a little of my attention over the past year and  a half, which is something I intend to fix this semester. Finally, I love to spend time with my nieces and nephews. I have 4 nephews and 6 nieces ranging in age from 1 to 12. The picture labelled Favorite Auntie shows me with a niece and a nephew who have come to visit me, all by themselves, the past three summers. They are pretty brave kids to go so far away from mom and dad (an 8-hour car ride) for an entire week! This picture is at 100% opacity because my family is very important to me; I spend most of my vacation time with family.

Leave a Reply

