Interactive Presentation

As a teacher, I enjoy sharing my knowledge with my students. Unfortunately, 7th graders often zone out when a teacher shares too much knowledge at one time. The past couple of years, I have found myself becoming somewhat pedantic, and I often feel frustrated that my students are not listening when I explain a grammar concept or give them background information for a novel we will read. One solution to this problem is to create a slide presentation.

There are many advantages to using slide presentations in the 7th grade classroom. One advantage is that I will be able to use pictures to demonstrate a concept, and engage the students. I will admit that sometimes I am unprepared for a certain lesson and I tend to improvise frequently. If I had a presentation made in advance, I would be more likely to show pictures, demonstrate concepts, and get the students actively involved in the lesson. Each year I give the students a brief background to the Civil Rights movement, including a history of slavery, before we begin reading Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry. Last year I actually looked up the “facts” I was presenting to my students and was relieved to confirm that I what I had been telling them was true. As I created my interactive presentation on Civil Rights this week, I was able to see all the benefits to creating a presentation.

I included the pre-reading anticipation guide that I usually have my students create on paper. Since I created it as a Google Form, it will automatically compile the results for me. It will be interesting for the class to see the overall attitudes toward ethnicity.

Another benefit I discovered while creating my presentation was that I was able to find images that illustrate some of the realities of slavery and the struggle for civil rights after the emancipation proclamation. Some years I have not included any images in our pre-reading activities. Having images of paintings, photos, and documents from the time periods we will discuss will help the students empathize, as well as help them understand the reality of the events we will read about.

One thought on “Interactive Presentation

  1. Tim Rocco

    Kjersti – I reworked a lesson into a presentation also and was forced to think again about the content. It’s interesting to think of presentation software as an organizational tool. I’m also attracted to the idea of using photos to help focus on key points. Together with text that highlights those same points, presentation software can be useful in the classroom.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

