RSS in Education

This week I learned about Feedly and wrote a lesson plan that would incorporate RSS. Although I have used RSS feeds in the past, I don’t currently use any. I stopped using RSS feeds because I wasn’t really following any blogs or news sites, and I could find content I was interested in through Pinterest. However, Feedly will be useful for following my EdTech 501 classmates’ learning logs, as well as blogs about flipping the classroom.

Feedly is easy to setup and navigate. The website offers several ways to log in. Once you log in, you can begin adding blogs and news sites to follow by copying and pasting the URL into Feedly:

Feedly

 

Your home page shows you the most recent articles:

Feedly home

Feedly allows you to sort the sites you are following into categories:

feedly organization

Feedly has additional tools available for a fee. As I use the free tools more, I will decide whether the Pro tools would benefit me.

Designing a lesson that would organically use RSS was difficult. Because of Internet access issues in the past, I rarely require my students to go online to complete assignments. However, after completing the digital divide assignment, I realized that, because of smart phones, most of my students now have Internet access. Another issue with designing a lesson that utilized, rather than focused on, using RSS was topic. Because I wanted a lesson I would actually use, I looked in my files and found a lesson I designed about five years ago. This lesson on analyzing mass media was fun and effective. It was pretty easy to add the RSS element, and it should make the lesson easier to complete because the students will have better access to sources.

The lesson is probably a little long. My students should not need as much practice as I planned, but I can always have them complete their projects sooner if they demonstrate understanding sooner. There are several references to one of the textbooks we use in class. I will have the students complete the review lessons as warm-ups over a few days before actually begin the lesson. My 7th grade ELA team is in the middle of testing a UbD unit on short stories that we wrote over the summer and then we will begin a unit on The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton, so I will test this lesson next semester; it will fit better with the units we plan to work on in February and March.

Click here to access my lesson plans.

 

Leave a Reply

